Books That Don T Exist

  • Whatsapp

Books That Don T Exist – American journalist Eric Czulegger delves into the gray area of ​​statecraft by living in unrecognized countries to find out what a country is really about. He began his journey as a third grade teacher in Iraqi Kurdistan at the height of the Kurdish independence movement. After being approved by Turkey, he moved to Kosovo where he reported on the country’s 10th anniversary celebrations. On his way to Transnistria, the black hole of Europe, he arrives just in time for the Russian elections. Finally, Kazulegar infiltrates Liberland, the world’s first crypto-anarchist country, where he parties with Bitcoin millionaires and the Liberland ambassador to Somaliland becomes in his most challenging position yet. There, in the never-ending desert, he discovers the true cost of drawing a new line in the sand. You Don’t Travel Through Countries That Don’t Exist is part history lesson, memoir, and adventure travelogue in the tradition of Bill Bryson, Louis Theroux, and Anthony Bourdain.

If you had asked me to read a bulky book of Eastern European history and the politics of Bitcoin, you would have seen a hole the size of me peering through the door as I continued the frenetic passage of a Looney Tunes character. Fortunately, this book is secret in its informative nature about the things that make my brain hit the snooze button. In a stroke of genius, a love story is woven into this narrative that gives each chapter a pace and weight as you become eager to see what kind of crazy situations these two young travelers get into, And what’s even more interesting is how they handle themselves. Outside. There is so much great and brilliant about this book, I really don’t know where to start, so I’ll just give a few thoughts: – Best TLDR from Dune I’ve ever seen. -Tread lightly- Little gems of wisdom scattered everywhere: “As always, I’m scared, but I’m doing it anyway.” “Action mixed with faith gives things meaning. Time tells you if those things were important.” (Oops) “There’s always someone coming. In the desert we have to take care of each other.” (I had a related experience in Whitehorse, Canada, when our Aurora guide was in the middle of nowhere helping an overturned car and said the exact same phrase—except to replacing desert with Yukon.So, I felt a pinch when I read it in Hans YANH) -Don’t leave out the last word. It is that last little stroke of the paddle on the chest that will startle and surprise. The pace, stakes and format make it worth reading. I recommend it to everyone, but especially to gift it to your friend who is a total travel slut (you know you have one). The author has done a great job for you, making some serious errors in judgment, living to tell the tale, and incorporating life-saving advice into a truly enjoyable literary adventure. All the stars.

Books That Don T Exist

Books That Don T Exist

I loved this book! Geopolitics, travel, history, cryptocurrency, existentialism and even a love story – while being hilarious, smart and relevant. Did I mention top writing? This story is amazing because it seems completely unrealistic, but is so incredibly real. “What are you doing?” I look around the room I was in and feel sorry for myself for the past 18 hours. “Reading,” I say, because it sounds like something someone who deserves respect would do with their time. “Vacations are a break from the thousands of natural shocks of your daily life. Travel exposes you to millions of natural shocks per hour, but with a purpose. You take vacations to relax and travel to understand. In the end, you return to daily life full of gratitude for everything you walked away from. In other words: the journey is sometimes very painful. There is also understanding on the other side. I hope.” “This is a moment you will cherish as a traveler. Your eyes are blurry, bloodshot and sick. You have everything and nothing. You have a place you are going and a place you are Gone, but you have nothing else. no. You’re here.” “There is only one best time imprinted in the collective imagination of all nations. Sometimes it is like Lenin’s USSR in the near future. Sometimes it is There is a time in the past when Moscow was a world-changing power player. There is ‘ a belief in the United States that sometime between the end of World War II and the 1980s there was a shining moment of American exceptionalism, that belief that if we make the right choices once every four years, we will one day return to this moment .” “Can limiting government and relying on the unregulated free market allow everyone to act in the best interests of their fellow man? Or will it lead to posh coffee shops in the middle of shopping malls after the apocalypse?” “I find my least wrinkled button-down shirt tossed in the air by inertia to iron. It doesn’t work, but walking around my room helps air dry. I like me I wear the soles of my pants and slide my shoes off my balcony together scooping up mud and goat manure. When I’m all dressed up, I look like someone who went to Sunday school. “Survived a nuclear apocalypse. It’s not how I like to meet the vice president, but it’s the best I can do.” “The milk tastes like pure, unadulterated dusty camel. It starts with a sharp note of earthy funk that screams Kameel! As soon as it hits the tongue, it makes you wonder who this camel is.” Wax?

Maps By Scottmap Books

I have been a fan of travel memoirs for many decades. As an avid traveler, I find myself comparing the travel memoirist’s experience to my own if they visit a place I’ve been, and if it’s a place I haven’t been. Travel indirectly with them. Some of the experiences I read about I probably won’t experience myself. I guarantee I will never hike the entire length of the Appalachian Trail, but I have read several books to experience it. I feel extremely safe in saying that the things Eric Czulager experienced and the places he visited are not things I will ever experience or places I am likely to go, but I am sure I can definitely learn from their experience . And I did. The places that Eric travels to and describes in this book are places that see themselves as a country, just as the United States, Canada or France are a country, but as the rest of the world If any of the countries agree, many few people agree. Eric experiences the unique culture of these places, sometimes disturbing and possibly a little on the dangerous side. He observes people and does everything he can to realize the impact this country’s situation with the rest of the world has on its people. The ongoing theme throughout the book is actually an attempt to establish what it is that makes a country a country. Will he give a final answer that we can all agree on? I’ll let you read and decide. Whatever the answer to that question was, his exploration and consideration of it was an interesting exercise that made me think a lot, not only about countries that might not be real countries, but also about the differences within those countries. , which also forced us to think about both what is good and what is not good. Places that are clearly countries. **Originally written for the “Books & Pals” book blog. May have received a free review copy. ,

Wanderlust: Catch it or treat it with this book Ever since I was a kid collecting stamps that included small European principalities like Liechtenstein and San Marino, Andorra and Monaco, I’ve always been fascinated by how places come to be and in able to maintain their autonomy while surrounded by a few large bully states. Eric Czulegger’s book documents his experiences in various contemporary locations, providing extreme examples of indigenous populations attempting to claim historic territory, bringing them to the more bizarre internet-era crypto-funded settlements ever imagined. One of the states is not recognized as the Owner. , when we meet him, embarking on an unusual guest teaching program in a dangerous area of ​​real need, unravels the external factors and is determined to find the answers to life, the universe and everything as he discovers new And searches for the unknown. territory. This is when things get really weird. There is no harm in reporting that he has survived to tell the tale, thank God, as it is an exciting journey to take with him.

I really liked this book. The author writes in a conversational style and combines charming bits of wisdom, sarcasm and self-deprecating humor. I was educated, entertained, excited and thoroughly engaged during this travelogue of countries that don’t exist.

Things that don t exist, products that don t exist, books like why fish don t exist, dragons don t exist, animals that don t exist, an atlas of countries that don t exist, ghosts don t exist, words that don t exist, letters that don t exist, giraffes don t exist, inventions that don t exist, fish don t exist

Related posts